Konstantin "Oskar" Antelmann

Konstantin "Oskar" AntelmannMy name is Konstantin Antelmann, I was born on September 1st, 1987 in Berlin/Germany. My father is a medical doctor and works as a gynecologist, my mother is a social worker and works in my dads office. I have two siblings, a brother (23 years old) and a sister (26 years old). My brother is going to school to get a degree in social working and my sister is getting a degree in speech therapy.

In 1996, we moved from Berlin to a small town called Wittichenau in East Germany close to the polish border. At that time I started my musical education by taking piano lessons in a music school. My elementary school was emphasizing on music as well, so it was mandatory for every student to play two instruments and take theory classes.

In 2001 we moved again to an even smaller village called Brauna. This is actually more of a community than a village. There are about 500 people living in this area.

In 2004 I was an exchange student and went to Pontiac, Illinois. There I developed most of my musical skills. I have learned so much during my exchange, I knew I had to go back to the U.S. Luckily I found out about GRSP.

My dad always says that he has to keep a good eye on me for I would just take off to go see other places without my parents noticing it. When I was a child, my family and I were at the Mediterranean Sea coast. I was playing in the sand. After a while, I decided to explore my environment. When my parents noticed I was gone, it took them three hours to find me. I was sitting with another kid that I had met and we built sand castles.

This time my parents know at least where I am and know that, I am safe with the Rotarians. Therefore, I want to thank all Rotarians in Georgia and especially the Rotarians in Milledgeville for making it possible for young people like me, to make the best out of our lives with this program.